Official Answers by Chaosium
Tribal Wyter (page 14)
When it says on page 15 “Spells: The Black Spear can cast any Rune spells known by the tribal king”, it can cast those spells using the tribal king’s Rune Points rather than its own? Or, does it use the “spend POW” mechanic for this?
Wyter’s always use POW to cast their priest’s rune magic (see page 286). It uses its own Rune points to use its own Rune magic matrix (Truespear).
Clans of the Colymar (page 16)
the Lysang (one of the Tree Triaty clans in the Arfritha Vale, given to the Malani tribe by the Lunar Empire)
Is this really meant to be “Tree Triaty; or is it supposed to be “three”?
Yes, Tree Triaty, the three tree clans are the:
- Antorling – Apple clan – GM Adventures book, page 17
- Lysang – part of the Malani since 1613
- Namolding – part of the Malani since 1613
Taraling Family Tree (page 14)
The family tree lists Korlmhy, son of Kallai as the Tribal King from 1615-1625. But it also lists Kangharl, son of Kallai as Tribal King from 1615-1625, which is correct?
Map of Clearwine (Adventure Book pages 32-36)
Using Points and places as correct numbers
|Points and Places||Locations||Map|
|1||Assembly Hill (off map)||19||19|
|3||Earth Temple and Sacred Fields||2 & 3||2 & 3|
|4||Blue Mound (off map)||18||18|
|7||Royal Citadel||–||Royal Citadel|
|8||Palace of the Kings||9||9|
|12||Upper City||–||Upper City|
|15||White Grape Inn||14||14|
|16||Old Gate and Ramp||13||13|
|17||Lower City||–||Lower City|
|19||Temple of the Tribe||11||11|
|20||The Ram’s Head||12||12|
Shanassee Tree (page 51)
The Tusk Riders (page 79)
Yaram (page 81)
Kranag (page 81)
Durag (page 82)
Mardu (page 83)
Qualbalg (page 84)
Zeoldan (page 84)
Yodram’s Tusker (page 86)
Tusker Hit location table
|Right Hind Leg||01-02||4/5||4/6||4/7|
|Left Hind Leg||03-04||4/5||4/6||4/7|
|Right Front Leg||11-13||4/5||4/6||4/7|
|Left Front Leg||14-16||4/5||4/6||4/7|
Fighting Yerzum Storn (page 114)
When a creature has more than one listed attack (which take place on different SR’s) does the creature get ALL of the listed attacks, each round? Or does it pick ONE to use each round (on whichever SR)?
Generally, there is a note saying whether the creature attacks multiple times in the same combat round.
Otherwise, treat them like characters. The gamemaster should pick which attacks are the most appropriate to the encounter each combat round.
Appendix 2 Metals and Crystals
Magic Crystals (page 121)
Could we get some guidance on the resale value of crystals, both powered and non? The material in the GMs Pack told us about the value of Rune metals but not crystals.
This will be covered in the RuneQuest Campaign Guide, in development.
The errata pages on Magic Crystals don’t make it clear:
I’m unsure to what you are referring to, but it would seem to be the July 4th 2019 Gamemaster Sourcebook Preview judging by the page references. If so this text was incorporated into the GM Screen Pack, Adventurer Book page 121-123.
do POW storing crystals need to be attuned to be used?
wouldn’t an adventurer know right away that a crystal can store magic points? Rather than waiting a week to see if they succeed in attuning a powered crystal?
No. Everyone hopes they have found a powered crystal and so prepares as such, setting aside a week of time (or longer to augment the POW vs POW roll) to do the ritual. At the end of the week the GM says either roll POW vs POW or you have just stored a magic point. A clearer version of the text might say: Quote
The only way to tell what kind of crystal you have discovered is to spend a week in ritual, attempting to attune it. At the end of the week of preparation, the GM says either roll POW vs POW or “you have just stored a magic point”.
Spirit Trapping/POW Storing Crystals (page 122)
A Spirit Trapping/POW Storing Crystal can have a spirit bound into it. The description only deals with ‘spirits’ in a generic sense. Can I bind a Talosi or Selene into one? How about a Nyctalope or Nymph or Demon? RAW, it seems so, because there is no limitation based on number or which statistics.
If you take a crystal from a captured foe, can you use un-spent MP in the crystal?
No, assume that in the week long process that discerns the crystal type that the magic points dissipate.
Can I loan my full MP-store crystal to a friend, so they can use it for their own casting?
Can my bound/allied/etc spirits cast/boost their spells from my crystals, if directed/permitted/etc to do so?
Allied spirits and fetches yes (spirits with you of their own free will), but not the others (bound spirits). Shaman pact spirits would depend on the pact.
What about a Magic Point Enchantments? Do these also need to be attuned in a similar fashion to crystals?
No. The week long crystal investigation is to determining the nature of the crystal (powered or not). It either results in an attuning attempt or storing a magic point (See GM Screen Pack, Adventure book, Determining the Nature of a Crystal, page 121).
Magic point Enchantments just need identifying before use (Analyze Magic, Knowledge, etc). There may also be User Conditions on use as part of the enchantment (RQG page 251)
As usual GMs may have their own ideas on how crystals and the magic points within work.
Uleria’s holy weeks fall in Harmony Week. I assume that was supposed to be Fertility Week?
HOLY DAYS AND HIGH HOLY DAYS
Uleria is worshiped every day, in some temple somewhere in the world. Her special festivals fall in Harmony Week of each season and last all week long.Gods of Glorantha, unpublished
The Spring Equinox is marked on two days in the Gloranthan Calendar:
Spring Equinox day 9 (Waterday/Fate Week) in Sacred Time.
Spring Equinox day 30 (Waterday/Stasis Week) of Earth Season as well
My understanding is, that the former is correct. The later should be the Autumn Equinox, as far as I know.
This appears in the printed version of the calendar as well as in the latest version (1.01) of the PDF.
The correct information is:
Spring Equinox – Sacred Time, Day 9 (Waterday of Fate Week).Guide to Glorantha, Vol.1, page 112
Autumn Equinox – Earth Season, Day 30 (Waterday of Stasis Week in Earth Season).
GM Screen and References
Critical Attack vs Critical Parry Result (Screen and References page 10)
What is the result of a Critical Attack vs Critical Parry. The rulebook chart says “Attacker rolls normal damage”, while the Games Master Screen and Games Master References (page 10) say “Attacker rolls special damage.” Which is correct?
The rule book is correct.
We’ll update the GM Screen and Reference sheets accordingly.