CHA4028 RuneQuest: Roleplaying in Glorantha – Chapter 07 Combat Q&A pages 191-206

Answers by Jason Durall, RuneQuest Line editor

This section covers pages 191-206:

  • The Melee Round
  • Strike Ranks
  • Movement
  • Disengaging from Melee
  • Weapon Use (includes Subduing & Disarm)
  • Dodge
  • Combat Results
  • Special Damage

The Melee Round (page 191)

If two potential foes move into range of one another, with weapons readied, are they automatically “Engaged”?

Are they going to attack one another and defend if attacked? Then they’re engaged.


What if neither one of them “wants” to be Engaged?

Then I guess they’re just standing there staring at one another. You don’t need rules until someone does something. Why is this a question?


What if one or both of them are already “Engaged” with other foe(s)?

Are they paying attention to one another? Backing into each other? Are they even aware of one another? 

The rules can’t account for every permutation of potential interaction between individuals. This should be up to the gamemaster to decide.


“An Elf, a Dwarf, and a Troll walk into a bar” — are all three of them each Engaged with the other two?

If they like each other enough and are willing to make it work, who are we to say otherwise? 

Four Phases in a Melee Round (p. 192)

I’m a little confused by the logic of putting the movement of non-engaged characters (phase 2) before the resolution of missile attacks and spells (phase 3).

In this I must defer to the prior designers of the game (Steve Perrin, Greg Stafford, and company). It’s been that way since RQ1 and making such a fundamental change to the mechanics of combat was both outside the design goal and something Jeff and I weren’t interested in doing.


If I’m reading this correctly, a non-engaged melee combatant can move half his/her movement, close in on a target that is armed with a missile weapon, and attack before that target gets a chance to fire. Wouldn’t it make more sense to have phase 2 include both the movement of non-engaged characters AND the resolution of missiles and spells?

It is, I believe, very specifically to keep things relatively clear and to disincentivize ranged combatants from getting within movement range of melee opponents.


Maybe abolish theses phases all together and just go with Strike Rank order?

If that makes things easier for you, Your RuneQuest May Vary.


The rule says “Who goes first and in what order during a melee round is determined by strike ranks”. But in phase 2. “Movement of Non-Engaged Characters” in which order the move of unengaged characters and monsters is made ?

Use common sense. If in doubt or to resolve a tie, use MOV rate or DEX as the determiner (higher goes first). 


Some character, C, makes a Statement of Intent (SoI) that they will move past a potential foe, F, to engage a BigBad (outside the scope of these questions).

C has a very-high DEX, acting early in the round.

F is already Engaged in an ongoing melee with another character, R (who may react to what happens below); F’s SoI is attack & defend vs R.

F has a very-high SR, acting late in the round.

DirectorGM:  Action!

C moves into melee range of F, intending to move past.

Q1:  Are C&F automatically “Engaged”?

No. They’re not paying attention to one another. They’re participating in the same combat, though. 

What’s the area the combat is taking place in? How close is C getting to F? You say “move past” but does that mean within weapon range of F or does it mean three meters away? 

Is there some reason that C can’t get to BB without interfering with F, who is otherwise occupied? Why can’t C make their move and keep F and R out of it?  

There’s too much unknown here, and unless you’re breaking out the battlemat or using minis, the gamemaster needs to make some decisions about what’s happening vs. relying on guidelines. 

Q2:  If Q1 is “Yes” does C need to Knockback/Disengage/Flee (vs F) to continue moving past?  Is that implicit in C’s SoI?

See the above. 

Q3:  If Q2 is “Yes” and C chooses to “Flee” does F get an unopposed attack, even though attacking C (or anyone attempting to move-by) was not part of their SoI?

Q4:  If Q3 is”Yes” — Does F’s attack on C occur on F’s SR (even though C’s movement “happened” on an earlier SR), or on one of the SR’s-worth of Movement that C declared?

Q5:  If F attacked C on Q3/Q4, what happens to F’s SoI & their SoI-declared attack on R?  Did they “use up” their action attacking C; or is that a “free” attack?

If you decide that for some reason C’s movement is the equivalent of disengaging from F (when they’re not actively paying attention to one another), then that attack is as described on page 195, a free attack which cannot be parried or dodged. This should be immediate and not affect the attacker’s normal SR action. 

Q6:  R (whose SoI was “Murderize F without being murderized back”) is feeling really left out, and wonders if he gets any chance to react to all the stuff F is doing with C, any advantage from C’s distraction, multiple-Engagement, etc…  and if so, what reactions/advantages?

If F has become engaged with C due to your interpretation of the situation, they could also take a free attack at C if they felt like it. 

Strike Ranks (page 192)

Strike Rank Modifiers (page 193)

Getting up from prone?

There isn’t a rule already, but it should be +5 strike ranks, the same as for switching weapons. 

We ruled that you can get up from prone with a similar delay BUT during the ‘getting up’ period, you were essentially defenceless.  If you dodged or parried or anything like that, you were prone again and had to start over (IRL: when knocked down in a fight, people tend to scramble away FIRST, THEN try to stand.)

That works too, but we’re also trying to keep from getting way too crunchy. 

Are there rules for standing up from Prone? For example a person got knocked prone by losing all hit points to her abdomen. She then healed herself and was able to stand back up. We couldn’t find a rule on it and I ruled it would be 1 strike rank to stand. A few of the players thought that was too easy to just stand up like that with 1 strike rank. Is there an actual rule for standing from prone?

There isn’t a rule already, but it should be +5 strike ranks, the same as for switching weapons. 


Magical Attacks and Strike Ranks (page 194)

from movement: Rurik still needs to run through 12 meters of tunnel before he can cast his Sunspear. Can he cast it the same melee round he arrives (on SR 6, assuming a DEX SR of 2)?

I would say yes, unless Rurik is engaged in combat at the time. 

That Zorak Zorani clearly has Berserk running, so Vasana adds two MP to her Lightning spell to overcome the countermagic effect. When does the Lightning strike?

See page 194. The Rune spell is at strike rank 1, plus 1 for each magic point after the first. So in this case, strike rank 2.

Support: Seeing Vasana receiving a blow that renders her sword arm unusable on SR 6, Yanioth (who has been hanging back this melee round) applies a Heal Wound for 6MP. When does this take effect? Would a Heal Body without any need to boost with MP be faster?

Let’s use common sense.

Strike ranks determine when an action happens in a round, after the declaration of actions.  

Yanioth has no way to know that she will need to cast Heal Wound with 6 magic points right after strike rank 7. Vasana is also in the middle of a melee, and Yanioth is hanging back. She would need to see that Vasana is wounded, move into the melee, and lay a hand on Vasana’s incapacitated limb to have the spell work. 

As a gamemaster, if and only if Yanioth said that she was specifically hanging out waiting to cast a Heal Wound spell on Vasana, I would ask her to make an INTx3 roll to see how quickly she can assess the situation and react, and maybe a DEXx3 roll to see if she could step into the fight and successfully grab someone who’s only second beforehand reeling back in pain from being struck. 

And as noted above, Heal Wound is a Rune spell and takes 1 strike rank to cast +1 per magic point after the first. So a Heal Wound spell boosted with 6 magic points would take 6 strike ranks. In the miracle that Yanioth was able to near-instantaneously assess and react, her spell would take effect on strike rank 12.

If Yanioth didn’t announce that her intent was to specifically be ready to cast Heal Wound on Vasana, I would say the spell happens next round on strike rank 6

SR cost for casting an attack spell while holding a weapon.

On pg. 194 it say “Most spirit magic or sorcery spells need at least one hand free. Because of this, 5 additional strike ranks must be added to an adventurer’s normal strike rank for a spell if they are switching from a weapon to the use of a spell in that melee round, so long as one hand remains free. This requirement does not apply to Rune spells. “

Does this assume the weapon is being put away? Or just dropped. The wording implies that you have to have your hand free so it’s not just mentally changing your mindset from weapon to magic. Would there be an additional 5SR penalty to go back to melee afterwards? Readying the weapon again?

I’m not sure what is meant by “so long as one hand remains free”. The way it reads the 5SR penalty DOES NOT apply if the hand is not free.

This is intentionally vague. Basically it means that if you don’t have any means of focusing the spell, such as touching a focus inscribed somewhere on your person, you are at a penalty when switching gears mentally to move your hand to wherever the focus is at. If you want to say that a focus for Bladesharp is on the hilt of your sword and doesn’t incur this penalty, then so be it. 

The rule assumes the weapon is removed from your hand in some fashion. Sheathing it is one way to handle that, but dropping it also works, though simply dropping a weapon at your feet is a terrible idea (potentially damaging blade or legs/feet). 

Feel free to just assume that your adventurers are always equipped with their foci in exactly the most advantageous place for combat and ignore this rule entirely. 


Multiple Activities Outside of Melee (page 195)

This question concerns the SR on which a hit is made after moving and  drawing weapon at the same time.

It takes 5 SR to draw a weapon and this can be done while running towards an enemy (p195 “actions such as readying a weapon and movement may be combined, so long as they do not seem improbable”).

Correct. The gamemaster should be the judge of what seems possible here.

The situation is this: a troll runs towards the adventurer whilst drawing his maul. The distance to the adventurer is 15m, therefore takes 5 SR to move, the same 5 SR is used to draw the weapon. Going by the rules, it seems that the troll then stands there for the weapon’s total SR, waiting to be hit, before hitting the adventurer, any advantage from the charge being lost.

You could also just say the troll charges slightly later in the round, arriving on their normal strike rank + 5 strike ranks for the movement.

This feels wrong, though the logic of getting the weapon out and getting it in a usable position makes sense. We played it by just adding the troll’s DEX SR onto the total with movement.

So the question is, if a weapon is drawn, is the SR for a hit equal to

  • 5 to ready + weapon SR + DEX SR + SIZ SR

Generally, yes. 

regardless of situation?

I would almost never say “regardless of situation” because that’s a surefire way to create more unnecessary complexity or confusion with the rules. 

The fundamental conceptual problem here (and it’s not just you) is that the RQ rules have never been clear about whether strike ranks are an action point allowance or a simple determiner of who acts first. Most of the time these issues come up is when they start becoming action points vs. speed of attack. 

It may help to emphasize your interpretation of strike ranks solely as the latter (determining who goes first, etc.), and all additional actions or modifiers to strike ranks are simply changing that speed in which everyone can attack. 

Vasana example (page 195)

Vasana casts demoralize in SR 5. She has a DEX SR of 3 and Demoralise is a 2 Point Spell. Should that not mean she casts it in SR 4, since I thought we had previously established that the first Magic Point per spell does not add to the strike rank, or was that wrong? 

Example is wrong and you are right. 


Weapon Use (page 197)

Subduing (Part of Rune Fixes – 3rd July 2018)

At times, adventurers will want to subdue, rather than slay, their opponents. There are two principle ways to do this.

A target can be immobilized using the grapple rules in the core rules.

An adventurer may use a weapon to stun an opponent if the player states that the adventurer is using the flat of blade or the haft/hilt of the weapon to make an aimed blow to the head at the end of the melee round. Subtract the value of any protective armor (including magical protection) from the rolled damage and use a resistance roll to attack the number of hit points in the head with the remaining damage. If the resistance roll succeeds, the target is stunned and unconscious. During the Bookkeeping Phase of each subsequent melee round, that character’s player must make a successful CON×1 roll to recover consciousness.

Successful or not, the target takes 1 point of damage to the head location.

Example: Vasana wants to subdue a Lunar nobleman. She has 45% to succeed with an aimed blow to the head and rolls a 37, a success. She does 9 points of damage and the Lunar has 6 hit points in the head (but is unarmored). She has a 65% chance on the Resistance Table and rolls a 22, a success. The nobleman is stunned, unconscious, and has lost 1 hit point to his head. Each round he will be able to make a CON×1 roll to wake up.

Disarm (Part of Rune Fixes – 3rd July 2018)

In a combat, an adventurer may at any time declare that they are striking at their opponent’s weapon instead of the opponent. If the opponent is parrying with the designated weapon, they will automatically parry if the attacker succeeds in the attack.

The attacker has the normal chance of success if the target weapon is a Strike Rank 0 weapon. The chance is reduced by –10% if it is a SR 1 weapon, –20 percentiles if it is a SR 2 weapon, and by –30% if it is a SR 3 weapon.

If the attacker hits the target weapon, they may attempt one of the following actions:

  • Strike to damage the weapon. In this case, the weapon loses hit points equal to the amount by which the damage exceeds the hit points of the weapon. Such damage cannot be done with a weapon meant only for thrusting, such as a spear or dagger. For example, Vasana tries to damage the spear of a Unicorn Maiden. She does 12 hit points of damage; the spear has only 10 hit points, and so it is reduced to 8 hit points. The next round, she tries again and gets a special success doing 16 points of damage—breaking the spear!
  • Hit with the flat of the weapon and match the rolled damage against the STR of the target weapon’s user (or STR×1.5 if the weapon is held with both hands) on the Resistance Table. If the attack succeeds, the target weapon is knocked from the user’s hand and flies away a distance in meter equal to the difference between the damage done and the STR of the user. If the STR is greater than the damage done, the weapon lands at the target’s feet. If the attack is unsuccessful, there is no effect on the struck weapon. This attack cannot be attempted with a short weapon meant only for thrusting (such as a dagger), but it can be used with spears, clubs, or quarterstaves to slap away an opponent’s weapon.
  • Attempt to entangle the target weapon with a flexible weapon. On a special success some weapons (whips, lassos, etc.) can wind around a defending weapon to disarm an opponent. In such an event, the attacker pits their STR against the STR of the opponent on the Resistance Table; if successful, the attacker wrenches the target weapon out of the defender’s hand.

If the resistance roll is unsuccessful, the target may then attempt a STR vs. STR roll against the attacker. On a success, the defender takes the entangling weapon out of the attacker’s hand!


  • As a general rule, an adventurer actually can attack AND parry with the same weapon in the same melee round.
  • In order to parry with a shield, it must be prepared. This means a) not be using simultaneously 2H weapons and b) not declare an attack with the shield.
  • When bearing two weapons different from weapon & shield, an adventurer can attack with both of them OR attack with one of them and parry with the other.

Is this interpretation right?

Yes.

The Attack (page 197)

How Many Attacks / Spells Per Round?

Melee Attacks With One Weapon

If an adventurer is NOT splitting an attack or fighting with two weapons, it seems as if the adventurer only gets one melee attack per round. The rules (as far as I can tell) never state this, but looking at several passages in the book (specifically the way Splitting Attacks works on p. 202, which suggests that splitting attacks is how one makes multiple attacks with a single weapon in one round) and interpolating the texts, it seems as if even if a character had the SR for several Melee attacks, he or she could not make more than one attack. (The exception to this is Duel Wielding or Split Attacks.) Is this correct?

Yes. You get only one physical melee attack per round unless splitting attacks (or dual wielding). You may cast magic and then attack, if you’ve got enough strike ranks.

Missile Weapon Attacks

As opposed to Melee Attacks, the user of a missile weapon gets to fire as many times last he weapon’s Rate allows combined with any other SRs involving PC movement/actions. This seems clear, but I’m bringing it up in contrast to Melee Attacks to make sure I’m getting it right?

Yes. Outside of the crunch of melee, you can fire quicker, every X strike ranks (X = yours + weapon’s) up to the missile fire weapon’s rate of fire.

Spell Attacks

I believe Rune Magic always goes off on SR 0, and thus only one Rune Spell per round. Correct?

Rune spells are one per round, happening at SR 1.

Do Spirit Spells work as Melee Attacks, with only on spell per round? Or is a character able to cast as many spells as he or she can squeeze into the round?

Spirit magic can  be cast multiple times per round. See Magical Attacks and Strike Ranks, page 194. 

Jason digresses – This is one of the great “problems” with how people perceive strike ranks. They’re in a weird place between being a determination of what happens in what order and an action point allowance.

Also, is there a difference between if one is in melee casting a spell vs. casting at range. So, if only one spell can be can when engaged, does this mean only one spell at range per round? Or are spells like some ranged weapons which allow multiple attacks per round?

Same either way.

Is there any distinction between the kinds of spells that impose limits per round? That is: maybe an adventurer can cast only one combat spell of some kind per round, but multiple spells per round the are not combat? And if this is the case, is there a classification system for what counts as a combat spell as opposed to a combat spell? Or is the notion of an “attack” with a spell fluid and “you know it when you see it?”

No codified limits, other than the above. The rule that a subsequent spell costs an additional 5 SRs limits this functionally to three spells per round being cast… the first on SR 1, the second on SR 6, and the third on SR 11.


The Parry (page 197)

Excess damage after successful parry with a shield

“A Successful Parry” on page 198: “In most cases, a hit to a shield damages the arm wielding it.”

An example on page 204:”Since he parried successfully, the attack goes through to his arm, which is clad in a 6-point plate vambrace.”

“Notes on Shield Use” on page 218:”Any damage taken by the shield above what the shield can absorb in one blow is inflicted on the hit location originally rolled in the attack.”

The last rule is different from the former descriptions. Which is right?

Go with the shield arm, which is the common-sense solution. If you intercept an attack with a shield and the shield is pierced, it will hurt your arm. 


Special Parries (page 198)

first bullet added “, with no armor protection.” at the end & Second bullet removed “, with no armor protection.” from the end. (Part of Second printing corrections)


Attack & Parry Result Table (page 199)

When there is any excess damage, there are two descriptions:

“Any excess damage goes to adjacent hit location.”

“Any excess damage goes to the affected hit location.”

Please clarify the difference between “adjacent” and “affected,” if any.

It’s just a wording discrepancy. It goes to the adjacent hit location. For a shield, that’s the arm. 

Critical Attack vs Normal Parry Result (page 199)

If a critical sword attack doing 18 damage is met by a normal parry, and the parrying weapon has 12hp, is the parrying weapon broken (as the attack & parry results chart seems to suggest), or is the parrying weapon just reduced to 10hp (as page 200 suggests, under “parrying a critical hit”).  

As per the chart, the defender’s weapon takes the damage rolled and the excess goes to the defender. In this case, “twice the damage it would normally” is a clumsy way of saying it takes critical damage. 


Critical Attack vs Critical Parry Result (page 199)

What is the result of a Critical Attack vs Critical Parry. The rulebook chart says “Attacker rolls normal damage”, while the Games Master Screen and Games Master References (page 10) say “Attacker rolls special damage.” Which is correct?

The rule book is correct.

We’ll update the GM Screen and Reference sheets accordingly.


Combat with Skills Above 100% (page 201)

In opposed combat rolls, where one combatant has a combat skill over 100%, is it parry% or attack% over 100 that is used to figure out any penalty?  I ask because Parry% can vary from attack%, either through splitting attacks, or through the cumulative parry penalty rule.

What are you trying to do when you’re figuring a penalty? If you’re attacking and the ability to attack is modified due to a penalty, use that. If you’re trying to parry and your ability to parry is modified, use that.

If a highly skilled combatant (150%) spilts their attack, does parry remain unaltered initially? For example an attack of 150% is split for two attacks of 75%. Does the parry remain at 150% before any cumulative penalty? 

Split. You’re diverting your focus into two 75% usages. Penalties should be applied to the 75%.

So let’s say with a ton of magic up my berserk Storm Bull Lord has a 250% attack.  The broo he is trying to kill has a dodge of 55% that he is opposing him with.  Which of the following happens:

1) I have to use all of my extra 150% on my attack to lower his dodge and we end up with a 100% attack and a 5% dodge.   Thus lowering my critical and special chances to the 5/20% levels because my attack is 100%.  The dodge would just have a 1% critical also I assume being lowered to 5%.

Everything over 100%. You can distribute the excess skill points as modifiers to multiple attacks/attackers, if desired. As a GM, I’d let you apply those excess skill points as a negative modifier when you’re parrying, if desired. 

As a GM I’d also be inclined to let you use those points to affect other actions the broo attempts, such as its own attacks, or even actions it performs unrelated to attacking/dodging you. You’ve basically woven a net of bronze (or iron!) around it and it is at a huge disadvantage.

2) I only have to use 50% of my extra attack because that is enough to take his dodge down to 5% and end up with a 200% attack and a 5% dodge.  Thus having critical and special chances at the 10/40% levels because my attack is 200%.  Again the dodge just having a 1% critical again being lowered.

See above.

3) I don’t KNOW what my opponents dodge percent is and I have to guess / pick an amount to lower my attack by?  And in doing so end up with some new attack and dodge % with appropriate criticals / specials.

Why would you know what an NPC’s exact Dodge skill % is, other than in very general terms by watching them perform dodges in combat? This is information for the GM. Your attack becomes 100%.

This can apply to any opposed roll of course, just using combat as the example here.

If I say 1 is the answer, it seems like it is penalizing the higher skill person more as they are giving up perhaps a lot of critical and special success chance.

You have reduced a fairly competent opponent (Dodge 55%, better than 1 in 2) to having a 05% (1 in 20) chance of success (the absolute minimum). Your chance of a special is 10 times theirs, and a critical 20 times theirs.

You are also mentioning that you’ve magicked up your skill to 250%, you’re likely inflicting a lot more damage than normal as well. I’m not sure what the huge problem here is.

Please imagine the roles reversed, where you have a broo with 250% attacking you and you’ve got Dodge 55%. Which condition out of the three you suggest above would you rather have be the case? 


Missile Weapons Damage Bonus

Do projected missiles get a full, halved or no damage bonus? The section on p 213 says that thrown weapons get DB halved, which is fine, but I can’t see anything explicitly saying whether projected missiles get a DB or not. The box section on p200 just says an attack gets weapon damage + DB. None of the example PCs have a DB listed for their missile weapons. Firearrow, however says “damage bonus still applies, halved for missile weapons as normal” but it could just be referring to thrown weapons (it should probably distinguish between thrown and projected weapons if so). Hendroste the Horsemaster has a DB listed for his bow, but the other PCs in Apple Lane don’t. A quick look through the Bestiary didn’t come up with any DBs for projected weapons.

So on balance there are lots of examples which seem to indicate that they probably don’t, but enough counterexamples to make me slightly unsure. Presumably you could pay more for a special bow that does give you your DB (or half DB).

RQ2 doesn’t seem to say explicitly either, but it does have the half-DB rule for thrown weapons. I guess it makes sense if you are buying an off-the-shelf bow that as it’s doing the projecting it doesn’t give a DB.

Self-propelled/thrown weapons should get half the DB, with bows, crossbows, etc. receiving no bonus to DB. 

That should be clarified better.


Dodge (page 201)

Use of Dodge and Parry against Missile Weapons

How does dodging against projectile weapons work?  Under skills it states that Dodge takes a full melee round.  Does that mean it has be declared in statement of intent and the character does nothing else can be done. Can multiple dodges (or parries) be done then in the same melee round?

If you’re using Declaration of Intents, then yes, you announce you’re dodging for that round. You can make multiple dodges in a round, at -20% to each successive Dodge roll.

I allow people to mix dodges and parries (going all-out defensively), but not Dodge and attacks.


Special Damage (page 203)

On page 203 Weapon types listed are Thrusting, Cutting, Cut and Thrust and Blunt.

On page 207 the Weapon types are listed as Crushing, Cut-and-Thrust, Hand-to-Hand, Impaling and Slashing. Which is correct?

  • Blunt = Crushing 
  • Thrust = Impaling 
  • Cut = Slashing 
  • Hand-to-hand = fist/kick/grapple/headbutt

if the impale is also a critical hit, then the maximum possible impaling damage (14 points in the case of the short spear) is done to the victim, to which is added any damage bonus and any extra damage from spells.

Page 203 Impaling Damage

Then

The damage is normally 1D6+1+1D4.  The damage is maximum damage plus rolled damage for an impaling attack, with the rolled damage modifier added.  In this case, the roll is an exceptionally good one, with a result of 7 (max of 1D6+1), 4 (1D6+1), and 4 (1D4).

page 206, example of a fumble

By my read of the earlier passage (page 203), the damage should have been 18 (14 (max of 2D6+2), and 4 (a lucky roll on 1D4))?  Which passage is right?

The rules are correct. The example is in error.


Critical Hit (page 206)

Last sentence of first paragraph changed to “A critical hit ignores the effects of armor or any other protection, and usually does maximum impaling, slashing, or crushing damage (depending on weapon type), as described above.” (Part of Second printing corrections)


Fumble (page 206)

Effects of a Fumble on the Fumbler (page 206)

Example, second paragraph, replaced last three sentences with “The damage is maximum damage plus rolled damage for an impaling attack, with the rolled damage modifier added. In this case, the roll is an exceptionally good one, with the result of 7 (max of 1D6+1), 4 (1D6+1) and 4 (1D4). The broo’s attack does 15 points of total damage.” In the next paragraph both instances of “17” are replaced with “15”. (Part of Second printing corrections)

What does it mean if you fumble and lose your next parry? Does it mean you lose your next opportunity to parry (meaning you want to parry, but you can’t) or does it mean your next parry fails (meaning you parry, but it is an automatic failure)? And also, just to be absolutely sure, that effect does get cancelled at the end of the battle, meaning if I fumble today, my adventurer can parry as normal tomorrow, right?

You don’t get the chance to parry at all. Your weapon or shield are so far out of line that they’re not close enough to try. 


Related Pages